Hazaribagh: Prehistory to Independence

23 Aug, 2017


9500-7500: The prehistoric man draws on a long rock face at Isko village

1500-900: The megalith-raising man erects an astronomical observatory at Pankri Barwadih village to observe equinox sunrise.

600-400: Gautam Buddha walks along river Mohana and Nilanjan to reach Bodhgaya. Edwin Arnold writes of this journey in his book The Light of Asia:

Thou, who wouldst see where dawned the light at last,
North-westwards from the “Thousand Gardens” go
By Gunga’s valley till thy steps be set
On the green hills where those twin streamlets spring,
Nilàjan and Mohàna; follow them,
Winding beneath broad-leaved mahúa-trees,
’Mid thickets of the sansár and the bir,
Till on the plain the shining sisters meet
In Phalgú’s bed, flowing by rocky banks
To Gàya and the red Barabar hills.


400-600: Four rock-cut caves are carved by Buddhist monks at Mahudi Hill Range.

1360-70: Baldeo Singh and Singdeo Singh break away from the Raja of Chotanagpur and establish their own estate.

1640: Raja Himet Singh commissions the fort at Badam

1680: Raja Dalel Singh coverts the rock-cut caves of Mahudi Hill into the temples of Shiva.

1700-1724: The capital moves from Badam to Ramgarh after the death of Raja Dalel Singh’s queen.

1757: The East India Company wins the Battle of Plassey.

1765: Shah Alam II grants the dewani of Bengal, Bihar and Orissa to the East India Company.

1769: Captain Jacob Camac arrives to “restore order” in Hazaribagh, then known as the “Jungleburry district”.

1772: Captain Camac installs Tej Singh as the Raja of Ramgarh, who shifts the capital from Ramgarh to Ichak.

1780: Mr. Chapman arrives in Hazaribagh as the first civilian administrator. Ramgarh Battalion of the East India Company is raised and is headquartered at the present-day Hazaribagh.

1786: The map of Bengal by Major James Rennel names Hazaribagh as “Ocunhazary”.

1805-06: Founder of Brahmo Samaj Raja Rammohun Roy spends a year in the district as the Sheristedar of the collectorate.

1833-34: Hazaribagh, the name, is officially given to the town after the formation of Hazaribagh division by combining the present districts of Ramgarh, Giridih, Koderma and Chatra.

1853: Gossner Church is constructed by Reverend Henry Batson of the German Lutherian Mission.

1857: 150 Sikhs of Captain Thomas Rattray along with the joint forces of Lieutenant Earl and Major English quell the rebellion at Chatra.

1863: Captain G Hunter Thompson in his book A Geographical, Statistical and General Report on the District of Hazareebaugh, surveyed during seasons 1858-59 to 1862-63 proposes Hazaribagh as the new capital of India.

1870-74: Circuit House is built in Hazaribagh for Sir George Campbell, Lt. Governor of Bengal. Hazaribagh is now a well-known hill station.

1874: Viceroy of India Thomas Baring, Lord Northbrook, visits Hazaribagh and the Siwane River Bridge at the present NH-100 is built.

~ 1900: Capital of Ramgarh Raj shifts from Ichak to Padma. Padma Palace and Hawa Mahal are constructed.

1921: Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the future first President of India, visits Hazaribagh.

1925: Mahatma Gandhi visits Hazaribagh.

1942: Loknayak Jaiprakash Narayan is put in Hazaribagh Jail for his participation in Civil Disobedience Movement. He escapes on the night of Diwali.

1946: DC of Hazaribagh Samuel Solomon composes a poem in two parts called Garden at Hazaribagh, asserting, “This loveliness shall stay after we are gone.”

1947: Independence of India

Popular posts from this blog

What I Mean When I Say I Study Landscape

Risk Assessment

Allegiance & Acceptance